Best of the Northwest Awards 2017 Winners


The Best of the Northwest Awards showcases exceptional programs in community media. This prestigious awards contest honors outstanding programs telecast on or produced by community access or local origination television channels in the Northwest region (Alaska, Alberta, British Columbia, Idaho, Montana, Oregon, Utah, Washington, and Wyoming) of the Alliance for Community Media.

For over 20 years, Best of the Northwest has supported television programs that are made on a local level.

Congratulations to all the creators of the great community programming that we honor this year. Here is the complete list of the 2017 winners!

Community Involvement
Wearable Art Thou
Michelle O’Brien – Ketchikan AK

Democracy in Action
Your Vote Counts (Su Voto Cuenta)
John Lugton, Emily Vidal – Gresham OR

Pacific NorthWEIRD presents ECETI Ranch
Vince A Ynzunza – Olympia WA

The Kalakala Video
Ellen Miller-Wolfe – Kirkland WA

Seth Ring – Gresham OR

Informative Feature
Center for Family Success
John Lugton, Emily Vidal – Gresham OR

Inspirational and Religious
Rehoboth Ministries Christian Music Spotlight “Creation 2015”
Joseph Neal , Regan Roberts, Madesyn Derrick, Christi Horowitz & Rachell Neal – Olympia WA

Instructional, Training, and Educational
TCTV Training Show: Do Ink Animation
Andrew Ebright – Olympia WA

Local Performance
Charles Lewis & Mark Hernandez – Salem OR

Making a Difference
Seattle Death Trains
Gene Bernofsky- Missoula MT

Overall Excellence in Public, Educational, or Government Access Programming
KPU TV From Local to Global
Michelle O’Brien – Ketchikan AK

Produced by Youth
The World I Want to Live In: Letters & Numbers
John Lugton, Tony Evans, Adam Lobaugh – Gresham OR

Produced by Youth
Let’s Talk Trash 2016
TCMedia Young Producers – Olympia WA

PSAs, Promos, and Station IDs
The UnUsual Suspect – Car Prowl Crime Prevention PSA
Kathy Cummings – Kirkland WA

Quality Time With Dad
Max Hess-Morgan, Arne Morgan – Olympia WA

Shows for Children
Hank and Harriet Play a Game
Jane Partridge, Deborah Vinsel, Frederick Dobler – Olympia WA

2016 HS Football
Ken Hook & Alan Bushong – Salem OR

Mt. Hood Conference basketball
Keith Thomas, Tony Evans – Gresham OR

Studio Talk Show
Community Hotline
Emily Vidal, Monica Weitzel – Gresham OR

Bing Bong TV
Thane Faye, Vicky Cassis, Eli Evans, Ari Rogers and James Duffy – Olympia WA

The awards ceremony was held April 1, 2017 at Open Signal: Portland Community Media Center in Portland, Oregon.

The Best of the Northwest is the culminating event of the Alliance for Community Media Northwest Summit.

Thank you for your entries!


One thought on “Best of the Northwest Awards 2017 Winners

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s