Letter From The ACMNWR Chair


Andrea Capere, ACMNWR Chair


Greetings from Northwest Community Media, an affiliate of the Alliance for Community Media. We are a nonprofit organization working to facilitate connection, knowledge, and resource sharing among community media practitioners in the Alliance for Community Media – Northwest Region, including Alaska, Alberta, British Columbia, Idaho, Montana, Oregon, Utah, Washington, and Wyoming.

The local media landscape has changed significantly in the Pacific Northwest. In previous years, we’ve focused primarily on public, educational, and government (PEG) television operations in our work. We’ve realized that the spectrum of community media practitioners is much more broad than our focus. Now we work to forge connections between colleges/universities, activist groups, libraries, digital equity and inclusion efforts, community radio/Low Power FM (LPFM), and community media centers. The mission is to create a more democratically engaged, informed populace by supporting citizen journalism and media literacy.

Providing avenues of continued learning is an important part of our mission. As such, we hope you will consider joining us for the 2018 NW Media Summit: Access the Future. We are excited to bring you a two-day summit on empowering the public and preparing for the next phase of community media in society.

Continue reading “Letter From The ACMNWR Chair”

2018 NW Media Summit: Access The Future


The future is accessible.

We create meaning through the power of media, and our actions today often lay the groundwork for the standards of tomorrow. As community media practitioners, we play an integral role in a constantly shifting culture. At Access the Future, we will challenge ourselves to build new structures for connecting our communities, improve our repertoire of media literacy training and tools, acquire helpful tips for strengthening grassroots networking, generate empathy using VR technology, craft accessible content with captioning, and more!

Programming will center around professional development for the next generation of community media leaders, emergent production techniques, better practices for reaching out to marginalized communities, and ideas for working better with youth. We will focus on collaborative efforts between PEG, community media centers, LPFM, public radio, independent filmmakers, and other media creators. Who should attend? Media makers, advocates, students, futurists, librarians, and scholars; natural partners with community media.

Join us for a two-day summit on empowering the public and preparing for the next phase of community media in society. This event also includes a social event on Friday evening and culminates with an awards program on Saturday night – Best of the Northwest – in which exceptional non-commercial programs are celebrated and honored.

Brown Paper Tickets

April 27 – 28, 2018
Open Signal PDX
2766 NE Martin Luther King Jr Blvd
Portland, OR 97212

Community media makers from NW North America: Alaska, Alberta, British Columbia, Idaho, Montana, Oregon, Utah, Washington and Wyoming


Showcase exceptional multimedia productions in community and non-commercial media! This contest honors outstanding independent content produced in our respective service areas. Any content produced and aired in the 2017 calendar year is eligible!

The BOTNW Awards is open for entries now, and open submissions end on February 2, 2018. Submit your content here.  Thanks to Castus for being our Presenting Sponsor for the BOTNW Awards!

Alliance for Community Media Now Accepting Nominations for Awards, Debuts New Award Recognizing Young Leaders

EDIT: The deadline for submissions has been extended to Friday, April 28!

The Alliance for Community Media (ACM) is now accepting nominations for the Buske Leadership Award, The Dirk Koning-George Stoney Award, The Jewell Ryan-White Award for Cultural Diversity, and a new award recognizing Emerging Leaders.

The Buske Leadership Award recognizes individuals who have demonstrated commitment to the mission and goals of the Alliance for Community Media, leadership within the organization within the last three years, a high degree of involvement in the organization nationally, regionally and at the chapter level, and continuing service to the ACM.

The Dirk Koning – George Stoney Humanistic Communication Award is given annually to an organization or individual who has made an outstanding contribution to championing the growth and experience of humanistic community communications.

The Jewell Ryan-White Award for Cultural Diversity is given annually to those persons who show an outstanding contribution to a process that encourages, facilitates, or creates culturally diverse and/or non-mainstream community involvement in the field of community media.

In addition to these awards, the ACM also debuts a new award recognizing the contributions of young professionals in the field of community media.

The Emerging Leader Award recognizes an individual less than 40 years of age, who demonstrates the values of building community through media on a consistent basis. The individual demonstrates leadership in the field on a local, regional or national level. The award recognizes the individual for being a person who is innovative in their work to strengthen the impact of community media.

Download the 2017 ACM Awards Nomination Form, which includes complete criteria and requirements above.

Submissions are due Friday, April 21.

Awardees will be recognized during an awards ceremony at the ACM national conference, Rivers to Cross, in Minneapolis, MN from July 11-14, 2017.

For more information, please contact Clair Steil at info@allcommunitymedia.org.

The Foundation for the Alliance for Community Media Offers Scholarship Opportunities for Young Emerging Leaders

The Foundation of the Alliance for Community Media (FACM) will award two scholarships to the Alliance for Community Media Annual Conference in Minneapolis, MN July 12-14, 2017.

The Grassroots Scholarship provides an opportunity for people from small towns and small organizations across America that cannot afford travel to attend the national Alliance for Community Media (ACM) conference.

Attendees gain access to continuing professional development and networking opportunities in the field of community media. Young and emerging leaders who want to shape community media operations in years to come are encouraged to apply. Awards will include full conference registration and travel assistance of up to $500.

Deadline to apply is May 1, 2017. The application may be found here.

Interested in supporting young people in community media? The Grassroots Scholarship has an active GoFundMe campaign. Your tax-deductible gift will toward the travel costs of scholarship fund recipients.

Beyond the Grassroots Scholarship, the FACM also offers the Brian Wilson Scholarship to undergraduate and graduate students enrolled in a degree granting program in media arts, broadcast journalism, community & public service, government administration, public education administration or teaching.

The Brian Wilson Scholarship is an annual offer to provide $1,000 in financial assistance by the Alliance for Community Media, promoting the values of former Board of Directors Chair Brian Wilson. Scholarship applicants must be an active ACM individual member, child of an active ACM individual member, or part-time employee of an access center who is an organizational member. Download the Brian Wilson Scholarship Nomination Form which includes complete detail of criteria and requirements today.

Submissions are due Friday, April 21, 2017.

For more information, please contact Clair Steil at info@allcommunitymedia.org.