Alliance for Community Media Now Accepting Nominations for Awards, Debuts New Award Recognizing Young Leaders

EDIT: The deadline for submissions has been extended to Friday, April 28!

The Alliance for Community Media (ACM) is now accepting nominations for the Buske Leadership Award, The Dirk Koning-George Stoney Award, The Jewell Ryan-White Award for Cultural Diversity, and a new award recognizing Emerging Leaders.

The Buske Leadership Award recognizes individuals who have demonstrated commitment to the mission and goals of the Alliance for Community Media, leadership within the organization within the last three years, a high degree of involvement in the organization nationally, regionally and at the chapter level, and continuing service to the ACM.

The Dirk Koning – George Stoney Humanistic Communication Award is given annually to an organization or individual who has made an outstanding contribution to championing the growth and experience of humanistic community communications.

The Jewell Ryan-White Award for Cultural Diversity is given annually to those persons who show an outstanding contribution to a process that encourages, facilitates, or creates culturally diverse and/or non-mainstream community involvement in the field of community media.

In addition to these awards, the ACM also debuts a new award recognizing the contributions of young professionals in the field of community media.

The Emerging Leader Award recognizes an individual less than 40 years of age, who demonstrates the values of building community through media on a consistent basis. The individual demonstrates leadership in the field on a local, regional or national level. The award recognizes the individual for being a person who is innovative in their work to strengthen the impact of community media.

Download the 2017 ACM Awards Nomination Form, which includes complete criteria and requirements above.

Submissions are due Friday, April 21.

Awardees will be recognized during an awards ceremony at the ACM national conference, Rivers to Cross, in Minneapolis, MN from July 11-14, 2017.

For more information, please contact Clair Steil at

The Foundation for the Alliance for Community Media Offers Scholarship Opportunities for Young Emerging Leaders

The Foundation of the Alliance for Community Media (FACM) will award two scholarships to the Alliance for Community Media Annual Conference in Minneapolis, MN July 12-14, 2017.

The Grassroots Scholarship provides an opportunity for people from small towns and small organizations across America that cannot afford travel to attend the national Alliance for Community Media (ACM) conference.

Attendees gain access to continuing professional development and networking opportunities in the field of community media. Young and emerging leaders who want to shape community media operations in years to come are encouraged to apply. Awards will include full conference registration and travel assistance of up to $500.

Deadline to apply is May 1, 2017. The application may be found here.

Interested in supporting young people in community media? The Grassroots Scholarship has an active GoFundMe campaign. Your tax-deductible gift will toward the travel costs of scholarship fund recipients.

Beyond the Grassroots Scholarship, the FACM also offers the Brian Wilson Scholarship to undergraduate and graduate students enrolled in a degree granting program in media arts, broadcast journalism, community & public service, government administration, public education administration or teaching.

The Brian Wilson Scholarship is an annual offer to provide $1,000 in financial assistance by the Alliance for Community Media, promoting the values of former Board of Directors Chair Brian Wilson. Scholarship applicants must be an active ACM individual member, child of an active ACM individual member, or part-time employee of an access center who is an organizational member. Download the Brian Wilson Scholarship Nomination Form which includes complete detail of criteria and requirements today.

Submissions are due Friday, April 21, 2017.

For more information, please contact Clair Steil at

Make Media and Change


Register today for 2017 NW Media Summit: Stories for Change, presented by the Alliance for Community Media Northwest and Tightrope Media Systems.

Join us for a two-day summit on the role of community-based media in empowering the public and becoming change makers ourselves. The event culminates with an awards program, Best of the Northwest, in which exceptional non-commercial programs are honored.

Programming, screenings, and workshops will center around digital inclusion, equity, innovation, and building stronger communities and partnerships. We will focus on collaborative efforts between PEG, LPFM Radio, independent filmmakers, and other media creators.